Map of Malta in the Mediterranean

Malta consists of:

  • The main island where the capital (Valletta) is located
  • Maltese writing
  • Gozo, an island to the North West (map is not to scale, Malta has been enlarged and brought closer to other land masses)




Latvijas Republika (Republic of Latvia), or just Latvija (Latvia)

Latvian belongs to the Baltic language group and is similar to Lithuanian (although not mutually intelligible).

Latvian was oppressed during the Soviet occupation. There are numerous loan words from German, Swedish and Russian.

In the capital (Riga), virtually everything is trilingual: Latvian, Russian and English. Many speak Russian and English.


Spoken Maltese

Pronunciation of some letters differs according to the position within the word and the preceding letter. Nearly always the first syllable is stressed.


Written Maltese

Q, W, X and Y are not used in the Latvian alphabet, only in loan words and foreign words.


Maltese Latin Alphabet


There are 30 letters in the Maltese alphabet.

It does use accents, see below:

Full Maltese Alphabet

   a      A  

   b      B  

   ċ      Ċ  

   d      D  

   e      E  

   f      F  

   ġ      Ġ  

   g      G  


   h      H  

   ħ      Ħ  

   i      I  

   ie      Ie  

   j      J  

   k      K  

   l      L  

   m      M  

   n      N  

   o      O  

   p      P  

   q      Q  

   r      R  

   s      S  

   t      T  

   u      U  

   v      V  

   w      W  

   x      X  

   ż      Ż  

   z      Z  


Improvements to this page?